“Shhhhhhhh.”

Staring at my computer screen I lost myself in the many lives I was studying on Facebook. Everyone had something going on. Everyone had something valuable to say. Everyone had plans to do this or to do that. Everyone had something to share…but me. I was lost. Not lost in my faith, but just lost in this world, my world. It was as if I was a hitchhiker in Tokyo. I had nothing to say and I felt like if I did 1say what was on my mind, no one would understand anyway. I felt isolated, numb, empty and void of anything worthy or valuable to say. I had nothing going on. I had no real plans. I had no vision of goals. I was stuck. I was powerless. I was removed from the community. I was basically only allowed to exist. So I just sat in a chair and stared into the pixels in a mental and emotional coma. I just decided to be quiet.

Sounds pretty depressing huh? I’d love to say this happened a couple of years ago, but if I’m honest I would tell you that this happened just before I typed the first sentence of this blog post. That’s where I am. That’s who I am. I’m lost in this world, as if I don’t belong here. I have lost much touch with the community, in which I was once richly ingrained. Yes, I still have a very strong faith in God. But my present existence with my community is, well,…nonexistent. So what is a person to do when they get to this place of merely existing?

Good question. I don’t know what the right thing to do is, but I know what is happening inside of me and I know how I’m going to respond. I’m going to just be quiet. That’s right. I’m not going to scream “injustice!” or “this isn’t fair!” or “somebody please save me and my family!” No. I’m just going to be quiet. Quiet.

“How in the world is that going to solve anything?”, you might ask. It’s not going to solve fear, worry, or injustice. But it will quiet my soul and it will encourage me to be more deliberate with everything I say. It will encourage me to “chew on” every thought. It will encourage me to slow my mind and rest my mind. It will bring focus to my hope in Christ. It’s amazing what being quiet can do. It’s amazing what being quiet can say quite loudly to your own soul and to those around you. My dad used to tell me that “silence is golden.” He was right.

 

Here are a few Scriptures about being quiet.

“For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from Him.” – Psalm 62:5 (ESV)

“So faith comes from hearing and hearing through the Word of Christ.” – Romans 10:17 (ESV)

“The Lord will fight for you, and you have only to be silent.” – Exodus 14:14 (ESV)

“Know this, my beloved brothers: let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger;” – James 1;19 (ESV)

“Whoever keeps his mouth and his tongue keeps himself out of trouble.” – Proverbs 21:23 (ESV)

“And aspire to live quietly, and to mind your own affairs, and to work with your hands, as we instructed you, so that you may walk properly before outsiders and be dependent on no one.” – 1 Thessalonians 4:11-12 (ESV)

 

Maybe you’re in a place of feeling lost or disconnected from the world, or perhaps even from God. I am convinced that being more quiet is a wonderful God-given ability that recalibrates us so that we can survive another day and thrive along the way.prayers3

 

Shhhhhhhh.

