Love Seems to Be Losing

Love seems to be losing with non-Christians. What I mean is that there’s something missing between non-Christians and Christians. And it’s more than Jesus; it’s love. Life can be so confusing sometimes. It seems logical that when someone is hurting and down that another who crosses their path would reach down and help them up. Even if helping the person up has absolutely no feelings attached, but is simply done in human compassion. But life doesn’t seem to work that way for me. I have found that there are times when I’m down, people who don’t know me personally at all are not only unwilling to extend a hand-up, but they spit on me, judge me, insult me, and then cross to the other side of the street. BeatdownTo some degree I’m speaking metaphorically, but to another degree physically. Am I making the mistake of looking through “rose colored glasses,” or does something between the human-to-human engagements need to change? Is it just my situation or is it the situation of many? I mean, I was accused (and still am in some aspect) of abusing my former stepdaughter and son who live with my former spouse. I’m completely innocent, but I’ve experienced far more judgment and unfair and unjust harassment from people in the community than the justice system in two counties combined. Further, the people from a persecuted community themselves are my biggest persecutors!

 

There seems to be so much anger and judgment from that persecuted community that I have become convinced that many of them do not want peace, rights, or freedom; but they want a fight, a punching bag to cope with their pain perhaps? I don’t know. What I do know is that as a non-judgmental person, it really confuses me and hurts when you know that people want to believe something bad about you, regardless of the evidence. It speaks volumes about their own pain and insecurity. I’m not mad or angry, just saddened that many people are so very hurt that they are willing to overlook the benefit-of-the-doubt factor and be objective.

 

Now maybe you believe you have the right to judge someone whenever and however you feel. You certainly have the freedom to do so. But should you do so? Should a person, without knowing the details about a situation or the person him/herself, openly judge another? I look at Jesus’ life for the answers to life’s questions. It’s just where I start and where I will always land. Jesus didn’t judge the prostitutes, thieves, homosexuals, corrupt government officials, the homeless, the different, the handicapped, etc.

Beautiful teenager girl worried sitting on the floor and a boy comforting her

Jesus showed every person, guilty or not, compassion, forgiveness, and love. Jesus gave them His benefit and love apart from their own doubts and their own sins. He didn’t say their sin were O.K. He said their sins were forgiven. In Matthew 6:14, Jesus said, “For if you forgive others their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you, but if you do not forgive others their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses.”

 

We-can-do-betterWhat if both Christians and non-Christians began to give one another the benefit of the doubt? What if they were willing to respectfully engage in conversation; not necessarily about religion, but about life and living in the same world together. As a Christian, I’ve seen fellow Christians be extremely judgmental of people who live homosexual lifestyles, for example. This is wrong. Christians should be loving and respecting them as people, period. Jesus did this. I can’t speak for non-Christians (whatever their lifestyle), but I can speak for what I wish as one Christian man. I wish we’d stop judging each other, both sides admit to being judgmental bigots to some degree, forgive one another, and commit to respect each other as we learn to exist and thrive in the community together. Christians don’t have to compromise their beliefs and neither do the non-Christians. We’d just treat each other with respect and at the same time respect one another’s boundaries. It can work, but we have to commit to making it work, and make it work. We can do this.

