I’m aRose

Jack & Rose

Jack & Rose

“Winning that ticket, Rose, was the best thing that ever happened to me… it brought me to you. And I’m thankful for that, Rose. I’m thankful. You must do me this honor. Promise me you’ll survive. That you won’t give up, no matter what happens, no matter how hopeless. Promise me now, Rose, and never let go of that promise.”-Jack Dawson

(You can watch the video clip here: Titanic Movie Clip)

This is the last conversation Rose had with Jack before he died. As my wife, teenage daughter and I watched this powerful scene, a rush of emotion flooded us. A rush of emotion overtook me I know. I began to have powerful flashbacks of my life, both now and of the past. I have been the survivor gripping the headboard in freezing water with every ounce of strength I had, while watching others who encouraged me, challenged me, empowered me and then make the choice to sacrifice for me, and they seemed to then slip away into the darkness. Gone, but not forgotten. I have been the survivor. I have been Rose.

I have also been Jack. I have been the one who felt as though I were barely hanging on while others had it better than me. I have been the one who just knew I was going to lose strength, will, might and faith and drift underneath the water. I have been the one who witnessed the massive faith and hope I possessed be chiseled down, little by little to the size of a pebble, or a mustard seed if you will. I have also been the one, the Jack, who in the most desperate moments, turned to others and encouraged them, empowered them, challenged them and commissioned them to live!

Wherever you find yourself suffering in this scene; whether it be the Rose or the Jack role, there is one thing you will find that allows either role to have supreme hope and faith. That one thing is love. Jack and Rose loved one another deeply, so deeply that both were willing to not only die for one another, but willing to die together. Their willingness to die for one another was fueled by their passionate love to live with one another, for one another and in one another.

You may never find yourself floating on a headboard or gripping a headboard, but every person is a Rose. “Every person”? Yes. Every person. You see, we make mistakes, bad ones at times. And spiritually we are as desperate as Rose. “Desperate”? Yes, desperate. Everyone is floating on a headboard in this evil and cursed world that inhabits a spiritual enemy that wants to take our lives. And the power of sin and death would have it’s way if it weren’t for a Jack. Only spiritually, our “Jack” is so much greater than the Jack of Titanic. Our Jack is Titanic! He is greater than Titanic. He is the Living God. The One who came to earth, died on the cross and rose again on the third day. In the Titanic movie of your life, Jesus is the One who gripped the headboard of life, suffering so you could have the opportunity to live on, not just when you reach the safety of shore, but for eternity.

Friend, not everyone has a Jack, but everyone is on a headboard in a wicked world and everyone can choose to be saved by the One gripping your headboard-Jesus Christ. Choose hope today. Choose life today. Jesus is the only way.

Father, thank You for sending Your Son, Jesus to grip my pathetic headboard. I’m in the freezing water of my sin, my past and my shame. Save me, Lord. Thank You for dying on the cross for me. I acknowledge Your sacrifice and I accept it. Thank You for forgiving me in full for all that I’ve done. Thank You for saving me and giving me new life. Help me to live fully for You, Lord. I love you and Lord,…thank You for never letting go. Amen.

Watch & Listen (click—> You Never Let Go!)

Leave a Reply

