“From the Cliff’s Edge We Beg”

crying eyeI know God is faithful and will protect me and that His will is what’s best…but what if I go to jail for no reason? What if I lose my job? What if my mortgage or rent lapses and I have to move out? What if I don’t get that promotion I deserve? What if my reputation is ruined? What if I lose my career? What if people believe the lies? What if the truth doesn’t come out and I’m forever labeled by others? What if my wife and small children become homeless? What if I get sick, terminally? What if I lose everything? What will become of my family…what will become of me?”

Have you ever been in a place in life where everything was on the line? Maybe one of the above situations resonates with you. Where everything you’ve worked so hard for was at-risk? Have you ever been shamed and embarrassed by people who lied about you and your character? Have you ever felt like you were losing the battle of “right vs. wrong,” and you were fighting on the “right” side? Have you ever felt like God wasn’t helping as you were teetering on the edge of the cliff? Every screamed in mental and emotional anguish, “GOD!!! Where are you?!!!”…and heard nothing?

I call this place in life that we experience, “the cliff.” You see, I call it “the cliff” for a number of reasons. First, because you are one step (or misstep) away from losing it all. Secondly, you are one nudge by an enemy away from toppling uncontrollably over the edge. Thirdly, you are a split-second and a split-millimeter away from destruction. And fourth, you are scared like you’ve never been scared before because of your proximity to the edge of where life could end for you. You are on “the cliff.”

Cliffs are interesting geographical structures. They are formed by breaks in the earth’s crust. These breaks produce ravines, gulleys and valleys; sometimes very steep and deep ones. These breaks are caused by either erosion, earthquakes or sudden calamities in the environment. Sometimes they are caused by a combination of these things.

Crying - eva wisemanMany times we cry out to God, “why are you causing all of this trouble in my life!” I’ve cried this out to God myself many times. But the truth of the matter is that God did not cause the break in humanity, humanity caused the break in God’s environment. Sin is the reason for breaks, the reason for the valleys in our lives and the reason for these deadly cliffs. Romans 6:23 says, For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life. The cliff you face may not be directly caused by a specific sin of yours, but a result of the sin of the world in general. The cliff is the result of our (the world’s) sin, and now you’re standing at its edge.

“Great. What now? I’m still on the cliff about to lose everything, begging God for help.” Well, there’s bad news and good news.

The bad news is that there’s nothing you can do about it.

The good news is that there’s nothing you can do but trust in God.

The bad news is that the edge wants to handle you.

The good news is that you can’t handle the edge, but God can and God will.

The bad news is that you don’t know how all of this plays out, and that is very scary for you.

The good news is that God is in fact with you and knows how it all plays out in the end.

The bad news is that you’re so scared you can’t move, you can’t breathe and you can’t stop crying.

The good news is that God knows and is with you. He will breathe for you and He knows your tears before they fall and will turn them to joy (Psalm 126:5).

"The Cliff"

“The Cliff”

You are on the edge. You can’t breathe. You can’t think. You can’t stop worrying and crying. You are on the edge of a broken world, your broken world. You are one small step away from destruction…losing your mind, losing your hope and losing your life. You are out of control. It’s too much. It’s too much. You can’t handle one more moment. You are at the end of yourself. You are spent…completely. You are on the edge begging God to help. What do you do?

You do what a group of people facing death did when they were trapped. They were cornered and death was certain. A large company of soldiers were about to kill them. The soldiers were coming and this group of people had absolutely nowhere to run or hide. The end was in sight. Men, women and children. It would be a certain tragedy. This group of people were called Israelites. They had been enslaved by a cruel king for years-they had stood on the edge of a cliff for years, but God had now promised them freedom and deliverance from their trial. They were finally headed for freedom…until they ran into a large body of water called the Red Sea. They were trapped by the Red Sea and could not move one more step forward, and found themselves on yet another cliff…like your cliff. Their leader Moses turned to them and said this to the people who were promised deliverance and freedom by God, yet stood on “the cliff.”

And Moses said to the people, “Fear not, stand firm, and see the salvation of the Lord, which he will work for you today. For the Egyptians whom you see today, you shall never see again. 14 The Lord will fight for you, and you have only to be silent.” – Exodus 14:13-14 (ESV)

You know the rest of the story. God, at the very last moment before death, supernaturally intervened, splitting the Red Sea and the people were delivered from their cliff. In fact, they were not only delivered supernaturally, but they crossed the bottom of the Red Sea on dry ground. Every cliff that seemed impossible and devastating brought them closer and closer to the place where God had prepared for those who loved Him. Two words: only God.

You see, you don’t really know anything. You don’t know how long this cliff will be here. You don’t know whether or not you will be shoved over the edge. You don’t know how far the fall will be if you do topple over. You don’t know how long it will take to hit the bottom. You don’t know the extent of the damage if you do fall over. You don’t know how long it will take you to recover from your injuries. You don’t know anything really. But God, your loving Father knows.

Only God knows how you truly feel.

Only God knew this would happen.

Only God allowed this to happen.

Only God can save you.

Only God can be fully trusted.

Only God can work this out for good.

Only God loves you enough to be fully trusted with your care.

Only God knows why.

God loves you. God is with you. You are not alone. Do you trust Him? Do you really and truly, deep down, with everything you are…do you trust Him?

You’re on the cliff and you don’t know anything but fear and tears. Will you trust Him? You can trust God! Choose to remain in prayer constantly, asking Him to comfort you and give you courage and peace every moment you feel a lack. Depend upon God fully for this and go to Him first and always. He will provide what you need for the moment and for the day.

Trust in the Lord with all of your heart. Do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will lead your paths straight.
Proverbs 3:5-6

“Father, thank You for my cliff. Thank You that I don’t have to be afraid. Thank You that I can trust in You…fully. Protect me from my enemies. Protect me from temptation. Protect me from fear and doubt. Help me to trust in You when I don’t feel like I can. Protect my family and my friends from my cliff. Thank You that Your hands are on my situation. I choose this moment to trust fully in You. Deliver me, Lord. Thank You in advance for how You’re going to use my cliff and for how You’re going to bring glory to Your name, for the benefit of others. Forgive my enemies, Lord, for they know not Whom they offend. Amen.”

If you’re reading this blog and you’ve never made the decision to place your trust in Jesus Christ, giving your life to Him, I want to invite you to do that right now. Yes, it’s that simple. It’s also that serious. It’s the most important decision you’ll ever make. The Bible tells us that if you confess to God that your’e a sinner, that you need His help, ask forgiveness of those sins and believe in your heart that God raised His Son, Jesus from the dead, then you’ll be saved (Romans 10:9-10). God will not only forgive you, but make you new. Further, you’ll spend eternity in Heaven with Jesus when you die. Take a moment right now and sincerely pray like this:

Father, thank You for sending Your Son, Jesus to pay the price for my sins and then raising Him from the dead. I’ve messed up real bad. Please forgive me and make me new. I surrender my life to You. Help me. Thank You, Lord. Amen.

Click the banner below for a free Bible for your smartphone, tablet or computer!

youversionbanner

2 comments

  1. Well said Jamie…and in those time of “the cliff” God IS the ONLY WAY….to peace, strength, hope and LIFE! God has this and will use this time for HIS glory, even if we can’t comprehend it at that moment. Blessings to you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

