Open Enlistment Now!

Will this battle ever end?

Will this battle ever end?

Is there a time in life when there is no battle going on? Is there a time in our lives when something isn’t just either irritating our lives or beating us down? I think there are those times, but for me they seem to be far and few in between. Do you know what I mean? Over the years and in my old and wise age of 39 I have accepted that life will be a never-ending struggle to some degree; at least until I close my eyes for the last time. So with that fact being accepted, I wonder, “OK, so what do I do now? I can’t stop the battles. I can’t really control them because I don’t know when they’re coming, where they’re coming from, how long they’ll last or the nature of the battle. So, what do I do now?”

I suppose there are four options for us. First, we could ignore the battles as if they’re non-existent and let the problems pile-up high until it tips over on our heads, forcing us to deal with it all at once. But that seems ignorant and overwhelming when they all fall down. Secondly, I suppose we could avoid the battles, like avoiding a boomerang someone is throwing at you. The only problem is that the moment the boomerang flies by, missing us, we think we’re in the clear and sooner rather than later it comes back to hit you when you don’t expect it. We are shocked when it hits us in the back of the head rendering us near unconscious or worse. I’m not real fond of this option either. Thirdly, we could just live in fear. We could constantly have in the front of our minds that something bad is going to happen and there’s nothing we can do about it. We would dance on the line of awareness and paranoia, living “safe” by living by rigid rules and possessing a distrust for the people around us. “Safe”? No. “Safe” is just an illusion, much like “control.” Battles aren’t “safe” and “control” isn’t effective because it doesn’t really exist. These three options seem to be chosen by most people I know, and they live miserable lives. The people around them are typically miserable as well. They push people away by trying to control them. They ignore their responsibilities and avoid confrontation and when it all comes crashing down relationships are destroyed and they walk away hardened and further emotionally and psychologically damaged. There’s got to be a better way to handle the inevitable and never-ending battles.

That brings us to the fourth option: faith. If the former three options don’t work, why camp out with them? Why not try something outside the box of what the world says you should do? Why not be rebellious against what most are doing, and they are failing at dealing with their battles by the way. Why not deal with your battles with success? You can’t bring success to your battles, not alone anyway. Do you want success? Do you want relief? Do you need healing and rest? Do you need more energy? There’s only one person, one force that can give you success in your battles and give you rest, healing and hope in the midst of the battle you’re facing today. The fourth option is faith in Christ.

Help

You can’t do it alone.

If you do not know Jesus as your Lord and Savior; in other words, if you haven’t decided to make Him the centerpiece of your life through a relationship with Him, then you are stuck with options 1 through 3. Option 4 is not an option for you at this point. But if you want God to fight your battles, and by the way His win-loss record is whatever and zero, then you must surrender your life to Jesus. He will forgive you of all your sins, put His Spirit within you, make you new and give you eternal life. You’ll never walk into battle without Him again. You’ll never have to avoid, ignore or be afraid in the midst of the battles.

Open Enlistment

Open enlistment now!

You’re going to be in battle for the rest of your natural life, so why not fight beside a supernatural God who loves and cares for you. He is waiting for you to join His family, His army. Enlistment is wide-open for anyone, no matter what they’ve done, where they’ve been or where they are, including you. Sign-up for the Army of God by placing your life in His hands and watch Him take you places you’ve never dreamed and give you the peace, comfort, rest, healing, courage, strength and love you’ve never had. Form a relationship with Jesus right now with your whole heart and watch your life change. And when your life changes, the battles will too.

Prayer: “Father, I surrender my life and my whole heart to You. I turn away from my sins and ask you to forgive me. I believe Jesus died on the cross for my sins so I could have eternal life, both now and later. Fill me with Your Spirit, make me new and help me in battle. I want to know You. Amen.”

Scriptures (look these up in order): Romans 3:23, Romans 6:23, John 3:3, John 14:6, Romans 10:9-10, 2 Corinthians 5:15, Revelation 3:20.

3 comments

  1. I like Pastor Ted’s (Easthill) concept. Not sure if its original, or repeated from someone, but he said “make adversity your servant.” Or, the one Chinese-character representing a concept of crisis/opportunity. Yes, Faith in the Lord is foundational, because otherwise you might be “winning the battle but losing the war.”
    The Lord has been with me through all sorts of battles: battles where I made stupid choices for solutions, battles where I just closed my eyes and said, “well, if it is to be, He will give me strength”, and battles where, at the last moment, He showed me the tiny, almost invisible, path between the very opposite choices of A and B.
    One of my favorite ways of thinking about a New Negative Development is to ask: what opportunity will this provide that I would otherwise not have if this had not happened?” I don’t think this is just self-consolation, either. I think it truly sets my mind pointing in the right direction; I can be open to otherwise-unseen options and/or His intervention!

  2. Hey very nice site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds alsoI am happy to find a lot of useful info here in the post, we need work out more techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . . kbgfkddbgabf

Leave a Reply

