An Expression

OK, this is not going to be one of my typical blog posts. I am somewhat angry, almost to the point to where I’m going to take action. And as I respond to my anger with dense prayer, I feel no less angry, but I do feel a bit more calm.

I’m at a restaurant tightening up some last things for my sermon tomorrow and there is a group of young people in the booth across form me, but two down. Of the three couples, one has a small boy who is no more than three. The boy is acting like a boy. He’s antsy and a little whiney, obviously tired. I’m a daddy of five, I understand the frustration of being out with others who don’t have kids and having your kids act up. I get it.

But threatening them with, “I’m going to drop you off at grandmas house for the night if you don’t stop it. Is that what you want?” Or “I wish you’d stop wetting diapers and be a big boy” and then everyone laughing. Or…never mind.

The psychological effects what parents say to their child(ren) have on their development: trust issues, etc. are heavy, really heavy. I get so angry when I see parents treat kids as though they were an inconvenience to their lives. I don’t know how much harder I can type on this iPad before I crack the glass. My heart is grieved, deeply grieved. The young parents I’m watching obviously love the boy, but do not know what they’re doing to him. I understand why he is acting up. I understand he is scared and confused about his parents’ loyalty. I get it.

It reminds me of how we love God, but don’t really understand what we’re doing to our own lives and our witness as we live selfishly for ourselves, leaving to God what is left over.

Do you treat God like these parents treat this child? Do you mock him? Do you try and tell Him what to do like a child? Do you wish He would just “stop!” until you’re ready to deal with Him? Do you wish He would just get out of your way for a while so you can live?

If so, I’d like to encourage you to examine this and tell me if it really and truly is the right thing. Does it make sense? Repent from yourself and your ways today and return to the place of full surrender to your Lord and Savior, who suffered, died, and rose again for you. Will you do the same for Him today? Surrender…fully.

“Father, thank You for Your Son, Jesus. I’m sorry that I’ve been living for me and pushing You to the side. I am so sorry. Please forgive me. I want to turn my heart and mind back to You. Will You help me, Lord? I need You.

Thank You, Lord, for never leaving me, even when I’m treating You unfairly and unlovingly. Thank You. Amen.”

2 comments

  1. I echo those sentiments my friend. There’s a line that shouldn’t be crossed when it comes to the tender hearts of the little ones. “Training up a child” does not mean making them feel unwanted, worthless, less than human, unloved. Training allows for growth, something God is patient about with us big folks. If we would only examine our lives in light of the big picture we’d see how grace extended to ALL, especially the children, is essential to model to a lost world that desperately needs a Savior. Thanks for your thoughts – may the Lord speak clearly through you tomorrow!

    Paul Auble

  2. I agree with you, Jamie. That kid should have bveen treated with dignity and respect, and his parents acted incorrectly.

    And by the way.Moms. Taking a young boy to a restaurant when your sole objective is to talk to a female friend and insisting that he behave is the same thing as sending him to hell for two hours. It won’t work, so don’t do it!

Leave a Reply

