“The Empty Basketfull & the BIG EGG”

Easter Eggs

Look at all the eggs.

As long as I can remember I have had the opportunity to hunt Easter eggs.  Growing-up in Georgia, our home church (West Acres Baptist in Evans, GA) and Allen’s Methodist (in Carnesville, GA) always had an Easter egg hunt.  On top of that, we always hunted Easter eggs at my grandparents’ house in Red Hill, Georgia as well.  I remember wearing a short-sleeved, baby blue button-up shirt with a dark blue bow tie, and my Sunday socks and Sunday dress shoes.  We wore our very best to church on Easter Sunday and didn’t bother changing before hunting those Easter eggs.  Someone would say, “Go!” and we’d….slowly walk away and lazily look for eggs.  Our movements were slow, but our eyes almost had a paranoid look as we intensely searched visually for eggs.  I remember finding one near a tree and another one under a bush and gently setting it in my basket on top of that fake green grass; that later seemed to be everywhere and there was no end to finding that stuff around the house.  Anyway, while we were all looking for eggs, we were looking extra hard for that one, big, plastic, candy and surprise-filled egg…the grand-daddy of them all…the BIG EGG.  I would look all day if I had to, but I was going to find that egg!  In fact, I hate to admit it, but I would’ve stolen it from another kid if I had to, but I was going to get that egg.  I would’ve done just about anything to have it.  Year after year I looked for the BIG EGG, but someone else would always get it first and scream, “I FOUND IT!”

Some people search intently and relentlessly for their BIG EGG in life; their purpose.  They walk away from the success and prosperity of life and find it empty of their BIG EGG and their basket is full of fake grass and rotting eggs.  They find that although they seemed to have looked everywhere high and low to find things to fill their basket, nothing seems to last and nothing seems to fulfill the emptiness provided by a full basket.

All the world has to offer will not fill the void in your life and in your heart.  But the Good News is that there is a BIG EGG you can receive in your basket.  You don’t have to look for it because someone is offering it to you right now.  Only the BIG EGG can fulfill all you need to have in that basket you call your life or heart.  Jesus Christ came to this earth, was tortured, and crucified for all your sins.  Yes, even you.

Jesus Christ

Jesus did this for you and for me.

Why?  So that your sins could be forgiven.  Your past sins, your present sins, and the sins you haven’t even committed yet…forgiven.  That is why He died and rose again on the 3rd day and that’s why you can be forgiven.  Accepting Jesus Christ is the only way to Heaven.  Surrender your heart and life to Him and He will make you a new creation from the inside out, He will forgive your sins, and you will receive eternal life in Heaven.  Jesus paid the price on that old rugged cross so that you could walk free, both, now and for eternity long.

Extend your basket and receive the BIG EGG, Jesus Christ.  Whoever you are and wherever you are, pray your own prayer, in your own words and tell God that you know you’re a sinner in need of a Savior and that you believe Jesus Christ died on the cross and rose again for your sins.  Ask Jesus to come into your life to be your Lord and Savior.

He is risen!

If you just prayed that prayer, I’d like to hear from you so I can keep you in prayer.  May God bless you this Easter and may all the glory be to God.

Happy Easter!

Heavenly Father, thank You for sending Your one and only Son to die for my sins and the sins of the world.  Thank You for loving me that much.  Because He died and rose again, I can be blessed, both, now and eternity long, spending it with You.  Thank You, thank You, thank You Father.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

